Edna Alejandra Longoria is a Mexican-American composer born in Mcallen TX and raised in Reynosa, Tamaulipas, México. Longoria obtained a master’s degree in Music Composition at the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music at California State University in Long Beach, and a bachelor’s degree in Music Composition from the University of Texas at San Antonio. Longoria’s music has been premiered by various ensembles such as the Chatter Ensemble, Elixir Piano Trio, North/ South Consonance Ensemble, Los Angeles Percussion Quartet, and Verdant Vibes Ensemble, among others. In addition, Longoria’s music was part of a workshop with the highly acclaimed Kronos Quartet. Longoria’s music was recently performed at the SCI National Conference, Music by Women Festival, LunArt Festival, Alba’s Music Festival, and the SCI Region VI Conference. Longoria was one of the winners of the “2019 Call for Scores” for the LunArt Festival. In addition, Longoria has won the 2019 San Antonio Performing Arts Grant Award. Longoria’s works have been performed internationally around the United States, México, and Europe.


Moto Celeste

Release Date: January 24, 2020
Catalog Number: NV6266
21st Century
Solo Instrumental
Piano Trio
In MOTO CELESTE, the fifth installment in Navona Records’ MOTO series, the internationally-acclaimed Trio Casals takes on eight new works by eight preeminent composers. It is an electrifying collection, full of drama and adventure. The compositions borrow from an eclectic array of musical traditions, including rhumba and flamenco music. MOTO CELESTE is forged into a cohesive work by the trio’s sensitive and highly-organic performances.