photo: Randy Tunnell

John Christopher Wineglass is a multiple ®EMMY Award-Winning Composer who has performed on five continents, before U.S. presidents since Ronald Reagan, and with several ®OSCAR and ®GRAMMY Award-winning artists including Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, and Jamie Foxx to name a few. 

He has written several scores and incidental music for shows on MSNBC, CNN, NBC, CBS, and ABC as well as documentaries on Headliners & Legends for The Brady Bunch, Kathy Lee Gifford, and Farah Fawcett. Having scored mainly independent films, several of his nationally syndicated commercials include music for the United States Army, American Red Cross, and Texaco as well. 

As a recipient of three (two consecutive) ®Daytime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series, and three ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards, Wineglass holds seven ®EMMY nominations. 

In the classical music genre, he has garnered commissions from the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music with Maestra Marin Alsop to the Kennedy Center Concert Hall, with The Washington Post describing his concert-hall work as having “iridescent colors in the world premiere of a beautifully crafted suite” while conductor Marvin Hamlisch introduces and congratulates the occasion by commenting “with a name like Wineglass, it had to be good.” 

Wineglass’s”‘iridescent” compositions are inspired by the beauty of creation and the splendor of nature as well as bringing to light social issues of the past and present. Recent commissioned works have received generous funding from The National Endowment for the Arts, The Pittsburgh Foundation, The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, The Benjamin Harris Memorial Fund, The Nicky Horvitz Gordon Memorial Fund, The Heinz Foundation, The Heinz Endowments Small Arts Initiative, and the Opportunity Fund along with a wide cadre of private sponsors. 

Wineglass received his Bachelor of Music degree in Music Composition with a minor in Viola Performance at The American University and later received his master’s degree in Music Composition with an emphasis in Film Scoring for Motion Pictures, Television, and Multimedia at New York University, studying primarily with Justin Dello-Joio of the Juilliard School. 

A native of Washington DC, he has made his home in between Monterey and Los Angeles CA for the last 17 years with his family. For more information about Wineglass and his work, including audio clips and score samples, visit


Symphonic Chronicles Vol I

Release Date: April 28, 2023
Catalog Number: NV6519
21st Century
SYMPHONIC CHRONICLES VOL I from Navona Records features the works of celebrated living composers from a wide variety of backgrounds and influences. Performed by the London Symphony Orchestra and Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the music touches on topics ranging from jazz to the COVID pandemic, racial injustice, and more. Steve Law’s melodic and rhythmic Piano Concerto draws inspiration from Gershwin, Rachmaninoff, and Prokofiev while assimilating the influences of jazz, pop, and minimalism. In Barbara Jazwinski’s Fantasy on Jazz, the composer meditates on the complex and ever-evolving music of New Orleans. Simon Andrews’ Interlude No. 3 from “The Scars On His Back” recounts the story of legendary Native American freedom fighter Po’pay, and the revolt against the Spanish colonists he helped inspire. These examples are just a taste of the evocative works found on SYMPHONIC CHRONICLES VOL I.

Dashing Vol. 3

Release Date: November 4, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6472
21st Century
Folk Music
Vocal Music
Navona Records presents DASHING VOL. 3, a festive assortment of new works inspired by the signature sounds and staples of the holiday season. Comprising stories, nods to classic holiday tunes, and an underlying current of wistful nostalgia, this installment of the DASHING series keeps the spirit of holiday music alive with new compositions and arrangements of well-known favorites. Brought to life by a number of orchestras, chamber ensembles, and choirs, the works of new and returning composers to the series are sure to ignite the charm and congeniality of the holiday season, highlighting the many facets that the bright break of winter can bring.

Inviting Worlds

Release Date: July 22, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6435
21st Century
Large Ensemble
From the mysterious magic of our darkest corners to the exuberant atmosphere of Carnaval, infinite possibilities lay within INVITING WORLDS from Navona Records. The musical dimensions of several composers are explored by the Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava, Zagreb Festival Orchestra, and the National Moravian-Silesian Theater Choir in this dynamic journey, offering insight into new realms through imaginative approaches to composition. Even in far away lands, close-to-home concepts are explored in thought-provoking soundscapes, showcasing the rhythmic dexterity and textural nuance of today’s orchestras across a wide breadth of compositional styles.