photo: Albert Dlugasch

Iowa-born composer Marilyn Bliss has written many widely performed orchestral, chamber, and solo works. She received her B.M. degree in composition, flute, and voice at Coe College in Cedar Rapids IA, and did her graduate studies at the University of Pennsylvania and the City University of New York. Her composition teachers included such distinguished composers as George Crumb, George Rochberg, Jacob Druckman, Jerry Owen, and Harvey Sollberger.  

Among her awards as a composer are a Charles Ives Prize from the American Academy/Institute of Arts and Letters, an ASCAP Young Composers Award, Newly Published Flute Music awards from the National Flute Association, fellowships from Tanglewood, the Composers Conference, and the New York Foundation for the Arts, and commissions from the Azure Ensemble, Haydn, Mozart Chamber Orchestra, the Philadelphia Art Alliance, the Powell Flute Quartet, the flutists James Zellers, James Pellerite, and Nina Assimakopoulos, the National Flute Association, and Englewinds.  

The Boston Globe has praised her orchestral piece Huatzu Hill as “…a series of rich landscapes: the colors sharp, the feelings powerfully concentrated, the language eloquent, the expression precise.” Records International Catalogue calls her piano work Fantasies “a virtuosic, highly varied work, fantastic and wide-ranging.” Her popular Rima for piccolo and piano has been used as a standard contest piece for the National Flute Association’s piccolo competition. Several of Bliss’s recent scores have featured the Native American flute, both as a solo instrument and in combination with other instruments.  Bliss is currently President of New York Women Composers. Her music has been performed throughout the world; among career highlights she has been a guest of the S.S. Cyril and Methodius Foundation in Sofia, Bulgaria, of the Fechin Institute in Taos NM, and the featured composer in Yerevan, Armenia, where her orchestral works Huatzu Hill and Veils were performed by the Armenian Philharmonic Orchestra as well as an evening being dedicated to her chamber works. Bliss is published by the American Composers Alliance and Marimba Productions. Her Veils for chamber orchestra can be heard on Navona Records’ WOVEN IN TIME, and other compositions can be heard on a number of record labels as well as on her YouTube channel.


Brass Tacks 2

Brass Tacks 2

Release Date: September 8, 2023
Catalog Number: NV6556
21st Century
Solo Instrumental
Large Ensemble
It's no secret that brass instruments can infuse any musical setting with a hair-raising surge of untamed energy and fervor. On BRASS TACKS VOL 2 from Navona Records, the brass family finds itself the spotlight, showcasing unique tones and unhindered expressiveness that’ve been carefully extracted by a variety of seasoned composers and performers. Spanning joy rides in stylish sports cars, jazz-influenced passages, fusions with percussive instruments, and more, this release explores a wide range of emotions and compositional styles, each uncovering an inherent intensity and bravado that pushes the boundaries of brass repertoire.

Woven in Time

Release Date: October 22, 2021
Catalog Number: NV6369
21st Century
An eclectic collection of cultural themes, WOVEN IN TIME is grounded in connections made through distant timestamps. Each piece weaves culture and ideas of the past with a modern approach to composition, revitalizing and repurposing the popular culture and literature of yesterday into contemporary music for our enjoyment today.