Nathan Froebe

photo: Jeremy Pendleton

Nathan Froebe (b.1983) is a composer, conductor, and music educator. Having written for band, chorus, orchestra, chamber settings, and electronic media, his works have been performed both nationally and internationally, and frequently appear as favorites in the Midwest. Additionally, his works have been featured at a number of festivals and conferences, including the North American Saxophone Alliance, the International Tuba-Euphonium Association, the National Flute Association, the International Trombone Festival, and the Society of Composers, Inc. Froebe’s works often focus on narrative design and gestural presentation, utilizing a harmonic palette that ranges from thorny chromaticism to exuberant lyricism. A proud member of the LGBTQ+ community, he recently collaborated with saxophonist Nick May to create Array, a work for soprano saxophone that artistically depicts the colors and concepts of the Progress Pride Flag. His works have also been featured in Brazil at the São Paulo Contemporary Composers Festival (Feverish), as well as with the South Bend Symphony Orchestra (South Bend IN) where his orchestral work Renascent was chosen for the “Crossroads of America” competition. 

Froebe received his D.M.A. in Composition from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Mead Witter School of Music with a minor in Wind Conducting, and he is currently a Visiting Assistant Professor of Music at the University of Minnesota Morris where he teaches theory, aural skills, composition, and more. He holds memberships in ASCAP, SCI, CMS, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, and Kappa Kappa Psi (honorary), and he publishes under his own imprint, Sonority Music Press, at


Two by Three

Release Date: February 2, 2024
Catalog Number: NV6601
21st Century
Solo Instrumental
If there were two words to describe Nathan Froebe’s musical output, they would be: exuberant and ruminative. In fact, these two attributes might arrive at a tie on TWO BY THREE, a selection of energetic freetonal, programmatic pieces for a myriad of flutes and piano. The thoughtful nature of these works is apparent even in their respective titles: Meditation, Three Scenes for Wind and Hammer, and Essay for Piccolo, Piano, and Alto Flute, to name but a few. Meticulously composed by Froebe and impeccably performed by flutists Jessica Raposo and Mihoko Watanabe with pianist Michael Seregow, TWO BY THREE sweeps through the mind like a fresh breeze on a crisp April morning.