Peter Drew

photo: Dave Wexler

Peter Drew passed through many lifetimes until he honed in on a career in music. As a teenager, he joined the high school orchestra but nothing came of it. He then bought a student clarinet, looked at it, blew a few notes and stuck it in a closet.

There were myriad jobs, but what finally stuck was a career in teaching at the secondary and college levels. But the music was missing.

That was when he decided to take music seriously, joined a symphonic band, and dove into the classical and jazz repertoire.

Together with a group of like-minded musicians, he founded the St. Albans Jazz Ensemble performing jazz and pop standards. Before long, studying with the composer Philip Rothman, he began arranging and composing and loving every minute of it.


Symphony No. 1 “Reminiscence”

Release Date: August 26, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6441
21st Century
Peter Drew’s SYMPHONY NO. 1 "REMINISCENCE" is a pastiche of sorts; it gathers up the musical moments that have touched the composer throughout his life. These musical reminiscences recall his excitement as a very young boy, listening to the works of the great western composers through the speaker of a portable radio, and musically encapsulate his discovery of jazz and popular music. The symphony eventually carries listeners well beyond the shores of America to Africa, Australia, Brazil, throughout Europe, India, and Mongolia. Those who follow Drew along this symphonic journey are sure to reap the rewards of the composer’s lifelong dedication to music in all its forms.