Praised as “gratefully idiomatic” (Los Angeles Times) and for its “subtle virtuosity” (MusicWeb International), Peter Knell’s music is meticulously crafted for instruments and voices. He is deeply invested in musical structure as a crucible to intensify the affective experience. Knell’s music has received numerous national and international awards and has been commissioned by the Fromm Music Foundation, Ying Quartet, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Barlow Endowment, and Lyris Quartet. It has been performed by the Swedish Radio Symphony, Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Louisville Orchestra, the Winnipeg, Omaha, Richmond, Memphis, and Oakland East Bay Symphony Orchestras, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, and Doric String Quartet, and has been broadcast nationally in Russia, Canada, Hungary, and Finland. It is available on the Ars Produktion, Sono Luminus, Hungaroton, OehmsClassics labels, and Navona Records labels.



Release Date: July 8, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6412
21st Century
Vocal Music
String Quartet
Award winning composer Peter Knell offers a deep dive into a number of his inspirations and formative experiences through a variety of orchestrations in SOUNDSCAPES from Navona Records. Expressed through solo violin, violin and vocal duo, and string quartet, Knell’s work encompasses the poetry of Pablo Neruda, the art of Rolf Stein, landscapes of his youth, and more. Dive in and become immersed in the natural imagery and sensations both Knell and these performers bring forth.