Philippe Kocher (born 1973) is a musician, composer and researcher. He studied piano, electroacoustic music, music theory, composition and musicology in Zurich, Basel, London and Bern. He is a lecturer for music theory, composition, and computer music at the Zurich University of the Arts. He is also affiliated with the Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology (ICST) in Zurich.

Kochers work encompasses instrumental and electroacoustic music as well as sound installations. His artistic interests focus on algorithmic composition and computer-generated music and art. The computer, used for sound and score synthesis, has become one of his most important creative tools. Kochers music has been performed world-wide (Zurich, Basel, Vienna, Utrecht, Hamburg, Athens, Milan, London, Cairo, Havana, New York, San Francisco amongst others).


Lock & Key Vol. II

Release Date: February 12, 2021
Catalog Number: NV6335
21st Century
Wind Ensemble
LOCK & KEY VOL II is the second presentation of five composers drawing from the well of inspiration – in highly heterogeneous ways and from a plethora of sources, yet all united by a common theme: the profound depths of the human experience. The pieces all revel exuberantly: in the natural beauty of Iceland, the nostalgia evoked by a distantly familiar melody, the random augury of a deck of tarot cards, late 19th Century anthems adapted for woodwind quintet, or the kinetic energy of musical gestures.