Richard A. Crosby (b. 1957) received his BM, MM and DMA from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. He has served as Professor of Music at Eastern Kentucky University since 1986, where he teaches piano and music history. He is a self-taught composer.

Dr. Crosby has been a member of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia since 1975 and has served three terms as National President and has been Governor of Province 25 since 1988.

Among his published works beside the Trombone Sonata are Appalachian Variations Op. 2 for band, A Walt Whitman Portrait Op. 9 for band and chorus, and the Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 10. He is currently working on a Trumpet Concerto.


Sculpting the Air

Release Date: June 1, 2011
Catalog Number: NV5852
20th Century
Large Ensemble
Wind Ensemble
SCULPTING THE AIR is a collection of modern works featuring brass and flute instrumentations from composers Samuel Barber, James Adler, Russ Lombardi, Jan Van der Roost, Barry Seroff, Brian Gillett, Juan Sebastian Lach Lau and Richard Crosby. The works on this disc range from a rhapsodic wind quintet originally composed for winds, strings and piano to a musical representation of a familial argument to a spectral piece based on one of Satie's Gymnopédies.