Patricia Morehead
Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

Carolyn Hove, English horn; Philip Morehead, conductor
Abraham Stokman, piano; Philip Morehead, piano
Barbara Ann Martin, soprano; Jonita Lattimore, soprano

GOOD NEWS FALLS GENTLY features the works of Chicago-based composer and oboist Patricia Morehead: Disquieted Souls, inspired by pre-Christian Celtic legends of goddesses and the supernatural; The Handmaid's Tale, motivated by the chilling, futuristic writing of Canadian writer Margaret Atwood; It is Dangerous to Read Newspapers, a reflection on modern times and the proclivity towards bad news; Ladders of Anxiety, an abstract work inspired by colorful medical charts that taps into our inner anxieties; and Good News Falls Gently, a setting of the poetry of Chicago-based writer Regina Harris Baiocchi that portrays an intense spiritual faith from a feminist perspective.

Similar Releases