Michael G. Cunningham
Classical | Ballet | Orchestral

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

Prague Radio Orchestra | Robert Ian Winstin, conductor
Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra | Petr Vronský, conductor
St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra | Vladimir Lande, conductor

GALLERY is a collection of works by composer Michael G. Cunningham, containing three of his narrative ballets and the Gastein Masterwork. The ballets—Nyadina, based on a Balanchine film ballet; She, based on the 1887 Haggard novel; and Chrysalis at Mardi Gras, based on the Saint Joseph story resembling Cinderella—contain a narrative, choreographic flow with emotional and fable-like undertones. Cunningham's knack for narration continues with The Gastein Masterwork, a "prediction" of Schubert's lost work and Cunningham's take on what the final version may have been.

Similar Releases

  • Michael G. Cunningham: Colonnade

    Michael G. Cunningham

  • Various Artists: Quadrants

    Various Artists

  • Mosko, Sullivan, Crozier, Cunningham: Continuum

    Various Artists

  • Osias Wilenski: Carmen's Revenge

    Osias Wilenski

    Carmen's Revenge