Emma Lou Diemer
Classical | Orchestral
Release Date: February 26th, 2013

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

London Symphony Orchestra | Brynmore Llewelyn Jones, conductor
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra | Joel Suben, conductor
SCzech Radio Symphony Orchestra | Vladimir VŠlek, conductor
Nathan Daughtrey, marimba
Betty Oberacker, piano

Santa Barbara-based composer Emma Lou Diemer (b. 1927) is a fixture in the Californian classical music community, having received commissions and performances from orchestras and ensembles throughout the state and worked throughout her career to advance the musical community. PACIFIC RIDGE, Diemerís debut Navona release, features three of her orchestral works, each in a single movement: Santa Barbara Overture, a rhythmic musical expression of Californian diversity, and influenced by music from around the globe; Concerto in One Movement for Marimba, a stirring and colorful work for reduced orchestra and marimba; and Concerto in One Movement for Piano, a virtuoso piece that moves from vigorous to lyrical, to bright and rhythmic.

Similar Releases