Martin Schlumpf

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | Presto Classical | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra | Vit Micka, conductor
Martin Levický, piano
Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra | Petr Vronský, conductor
Petr Vronský, cello; Marek Vajo, trumpet
PARMA Orchestra | John Page, conductor
Matthias Müller, clarinet; David Taylor, bass trombone

Since the late 1980s, Swiss Composer Schlumpf has been widely active in the borderlands between improvisation and composition. With STREAMS, the follow-up to his 2012 Navona Records release SUMMER CIRCLE, Schlumpf presents three concertos that are representative of a creative period in his career marked by the influence of minimalism and jazz, new tonal concepts, a strong emphasis on rhythm, and clear-cut formal designs. These colorful concertos- Mouvements, Waves, and Streams- feature stand-out performances from pianist Martin Levický, cellist Petr Nouzovský, clarinetist Matthias Müller, and bass trombonist David Taylor. The soloists are accompanies by the stellar Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra and the newly formed PARMA Orchestra in their first on-disc performance. With diverse influences from Ravel, Schubert, and the ethnic music of Asia and Africa, the sonic world of STREAMS pits soloist(s) and orchestra in multi-tiered dialogues featuring an array of delicate minimalist textures, engaging improvisations, and rich harmonic colors.

Similar Releases