Yves Ramette
Steven Block
Rain Worthington
Paula Diehl
Allen Brings
Release Date: March 10, 2015

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | Spotify | Naxos Music Library | iTunes | ClassicsOnline

Bryan Young, Karolina Rojahn, Vit Muzik,
Lucie Kaucka, Antonin Hradil, Jakab Latal,
Dominika Muzikova, Marian Pavlik,
Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra Chamber Players
(Petr Vronsky, conductor), Deborah Wong, Adam Grabois

Navona Records' latest offering of chamber music ELEMENTS RISING highlights contemporary composers who re-imagine the building blocks of music, such as melody, harmony, rhythm, dynamics, and timbre, in innovative ways, applying them to a number of duo and ensemble settings.

French composer Yves Ramette's Introduction et Allegro, written in 1945 for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and piano ensemble, uses space, harmonic tension, and texture to create a sense of brooding and propulsion. Fire Tiger by Steven Block, written for violin and piano, is a dramatic work that combines structural unity and a consistent non-tonal language to convey emotional intensity. In her impressionistic work Night Stream, Rain Worthington reflects on the flowing textures of life and time, while her Rhythm Modes uses various rhythmic patterns to articulate and animate the motives and melodies of the piece. Gambit by Paula Diehl uses a compositional system created by the composer called Separation, which uses sets of interlocking perfect 4ths in a process of phases that gradually isolates the intervals from each other. Allen Brings' Duo for Violin and Cello emphasizes melody, an area in which the composer finds influence from Gregorian chant to Lieder repertoire, building to an energetic and lively end.

Visit the ELEMENTS RISING web application to access Scores, liner notes, photos, and more.