YouTube | Amazon | iTunes | Spotify


Release Date: January 8, 2016

Catalog #: NV6018




Michael Norsworthy, clarinet; Yoko Hagino, piano


Tim and Trina’s Ball

1 I. Christmas Time

2 II. Wedding Waltz

3 III. Kaspar On Parade

4 IV. Thanksgiven


The Odd Pieces

5 I. Teddy Bear’s Big Feet Dance

6 II. Wicked Witches Having Fun

7 III. Midnight Waltz

8 IV. Cat and Mouse Ball

9 V. Gaby with the Green Eyes

10 VI. A Slight Romance

11 VII. Goodnight Waltz

12 Viii. Saber Prancing


13 Trina’s Path


14 Once a ByGone Time


15 Lingering Longings


16 Evan’s Haven






Carl Vollrath



Considered by American Record Guide as a composer who “approaches his pieces with respect and care,” Carl Vollrath presents the second volume of his clarinet and piano works on Navona Records, LINGERING LONGINGS: MUSIC FOR CLARINET AND PIANO VOL. 2. Expanding upon the first release in this collection, PAST RECOLLECTIONS: MUSIC FOR CLARINET AND PIANO VOL. 1, the composer continues to celebrate past events through musical narratives, tenderly and radiantly performed by clarinetist Michael Norsworthy and pianist Yoko Hagino.


On this album, Vollrath takes a more personal approach than previously, conveying stories about small towns, like Troy, Alabama where the composer has taught since 1965; Christmas parties; and inspiring musicians in pieces such as Tim and Trina’s Ball, Trina’s Path, and Once a By Gone Time. Odd Pieces illustrates magical pictures of a young blossoming mind. One of these pieces, “Gaby with the Green Eyes,” is about a young girl who lived with Debussy in Paris. The album culminates with Evan's Haven, a companion piece to “Little Violet,” featured on the first volume, and written for clarinetist Timothy Phillips when his son was born.




The first volume of Vollrath’s works for clarinet and piano on Navona Records, PAST RECOLLECTIONS (NV5988), is praised for having “a straightforward lyricism at times, and a dance-like colloquial feel at others, but always a nicely unpretentious air of somewhat complicated simplicity” (Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review)


The album features clarinetist Michael Norsworthy, hailed for playing “with beautiful tonal nuances” (Pittsburgh Tribune-Review), and “technical agility, musicality, and control” (Clarinet Magazine). American Record Guide says, “The tenderness and effort Michael Norsworthy puts into each note on the clarinet is enviable”


These works feature pianist Yoko Hagino, who has received prizes at several competitions, including the Steinway Society Piano Competition, the First International Chamber Music Competition, and the All-Japan Selective Competition of the International Mozart Competition, among others


Vollrath’s music has been recorded by Grammy Award-winning clarinetist Richard Stoltzman and the highly acclaimed pianist Karolina Rojahn


His compositional output includes an opera, orchestral music, symphonies for winds, chamber music, and solo piano works. Since 1965, Vollrath has been a member of the music faculty at Troy University in Alabama





Born in New York City to German parents, Carl Vollrath attended Newton High School. He received a B.A. from Stetson University, a M.A. from Columbia University, and the ED.D from Florida State University. Vollrath studied composition with Ernst von Dohnanyi, Carlisle Floyd, and John Boda. He served with the West Point Military Band at West Point NY from 1953 to 1956 and was a music consultant in Miami FL from 1956 to 1958. He joined the Troy University (AL) faculty in 1965.


Major works include 6 symphonies for band, an opera – The Quest – and a large collection of chamber music, all published by Tap Music. MMC Recordings has released 3 albums of Vollrath’s works, including a 2-disc album of clarinet works recorded by Richard Stoltzman entitled Jack’s Fat Cat (2008).







Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 161