Daniel Perttu

Sonata for Piano

This piece originated from my visit to Stonehenge in the summer of 2009.  The stone circle was inspiring, but its mystical nature defied full comprehension.  This composition attempts to capture the fantastical nature of this Wonder of the World.

(Notes by Daniel Perttu)


Jason Tad Howard

Piano Sonata No. 2: Nine Short Shorts for Piano

The set of 9 Short Shorts is based on the pitch “C”.  Each Short Short is contrasting in character and in its technical approach while always maintaining the connection to the pitch “C”. The title of Sonata is not a reflection of the sonata form; however, melodic and rhythmic themes recur throughout the piece and come together in the last Short Short No. 9.

(Notes by Nancy DeSalvo)




Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.



223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at) parmarecordings.com

603.758.1718 x 151