Track listing


John McGuire horn


Traci Mendel (b. 1964)

Landscapes, Series II

Kevin Chance piano

01 I. Tall mountains, rising mist, and Shinto shrine 5:17

02 II. Rain Falling on Rice Fields 4:14

03 III. Tokyo in the Distance 6:47


04 Lines at Dusk: Hymn to the Rising Moon 4:28

Kevin Chance piano


05 Nocturne 5:26

Kevin Chance piano


James M. David (b. 1978)


Wesley Ferreira clarinet

Kevin Chance piano

06 I. Kantaderas 5:28

07 II. Batukaderas 3:51


Otto Ketting (1935-2012)

08 Intrada 4:21


Bernhard Krol (1920-2013)

08 Laudatio 4:56


Alexey Posin (b. 1971)

Brass Quintet No. 1

The Fortress Brass Quintet

Bradley Ulrich, Eric Yates trumpets

John McGuire horn

Bradley Kerns trombone

Michael Dunn tuba

09 I. Allegro Vivo 3:42

10 II. Intermezzo,  III. Rondo-Tarantella 5:30





Tracks 1-9 recorded May 20-21 and July 28-30, 2019 at The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa AL

Produced and directed by Eric Yates and John McGuire

Recording Engineer Michael Wilk

Mixed by Michael Wilk and David Myers


Tracks 10-11 recorded November 17, 2018 at The University of Kentucky in Lexington KY

Recorded, directed, and mixed by John Handshoe


Album package artwork Caleb Knobel



Executive Producer Bob Lord


Executive A&R Sam Renshaw

A&R Director Brandon MacNeil

A&R Chris Robinson


VP, Audio Production Jeff LeRoy

Audio Director Lucas Paquette

Mastering Shaun Michaud


VP, Design & Marketing Brett Picknell

Art Director Ryan Harrison

Design Edward A. Fleming

Publicity Patrick Niland, Sara Warner






CONNECT with John McGuire



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151