Track listing


Ganesh B. Kumar Composer


RISE: Symphony no.1 in D minor 22:23

Homage to Ludwig van Beethoven

Staatskapelle Halle Orchestra | Bernd Ruf conductor


01 I. Allegro con brio 7:30

02 II. Andante  7:47

03 III. Allegro con moto 7:07


04 THE JOURNEY - From Despair to Hope: A Symphonic Poem 26:12

Homage to ‘Maharaj’ Jam Saheb Digvijay Singhji

Staatskapelle Halle Orchestra | Bernd Ruf conductor


I. The night before the journey: Aria I - Lost Souls

Lyrics by Georgina Margarite Ezra

Vocal Quartet | Jaqueline Zierau soprano

Peggy Klemm alto

Maik Gruchenberg baritone

Matthias Schulze bass


II. Arrival of trucks

III. The journey through different territories

IV. Misfortune strikes

V. Pathos and grief

VI. Desolation

VII. Ray of hope

VIII. ‘The Maharaj’ Jam Saheb Digvijay Singhji


IX. The warm welcome: Aria II: Bapu Bapu

Lyrics by Georgina Margarite Ezra | Choir of the Opera Halle


X. Extolling the virtues of the Maharaj: Aria III - Undaal Amma Ivvulagam

from Purananooru, a compilation of ancient Tamil verses, written by ‘Kadalul maaindha’ Ilamperuvazhudhi

Choir of the Opera Halle | Markus Fischer conductor


05 *Undaal Amma Ivvulagam 2:42

BONUS TRACK – a cappella version

Shalini Singh Balaji and Keshav Vinod Kumar vocals




I have no words to describe the depth of gratitude I feel for our patron Mr. Anand Madhavan, for his magnanimous generosity and unconditional support in realizing this musical venture. — Ganesh B. Kumar


Live recordings produced by Dynamedion GbR

Recorded July 2 - 3, 2019 with 91 instrumentalists and 31 singers at the rehearsal hall of the Staatskapelle Halle in Halle (Saale), Germany

Session Manager  Marcell Kelemen

Session Producer  David Christiansen

Recording Producer Holger Busse, at GENUIN

Engineer  Anne Taegert, at GENUIN

Audio Postproduction  Holger Busse & Anna Taegert , at GENUIN

Producer  Ganesh B. Kumar


Core Team

Project lead  Dr. Prem Venkatesh Ram Mohan

Chief linguistic consultant V. Muthukumaraguruswamy

Songwriter and translator Georgina Margarite Ezra

Concept and program notes  Anand Madhavan


Our Special thanks to

Ashok Ram Mohan

V. Muthukumaraguruswamy

Dr. Prem Venkatesh Ram Mohan

AMPA Palaniappan


Balaji Rajagopallan

J. Lakshmi Narayanan

Rajan Ekambaram

Karthikeyan Ramaswamy



Executive Producer Bob Lord


Executive A&R Sam Renshaw

A&R Director Brandon MacNeil

A&R Jacob Smith


VP, Audio Production Jeff LeRoy

Audio Director, Addtl. Mastering Lucas Paquette

Addtl. Mastering Shaun Michaud


VP, Design & Marketing Brett Picknell

Art Director Ryan Harrison

Design Edward A. Fleming

Publicity Patrick Niland, Sara Warner






CONNECT with Ganesh B. Kumar



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151