Breaking the Silence

This work draws its inspiration from probably the most famous of all haiku, Matsuo Basho’s 17th century classic, Frog. One of many translations:


Breaking the silence

of an ancient pond

a frog jumped into water

 – a deep resonance


Noboyuki Yuasa


The First Movement begins with Zazen, a meditation to achieve deep serenity so that any chance thing – even the leap of a frog into a pond — may reveal the essence of existence. Zazen leads into kawazu tobikomu (frog jumps in), which is marked “with mischievous fun”: the frog is seen as releasing joyous energy.


The Second Movement, furu ike ya (old pond), evokes enlightenment. A second, more troubled theme suggests that enlightenment is not achieved easily. The first theme returns to bring the movement to a gentle end.


The Third Movement, mizu no oto (water’s sound), begins with a leap and a plop, as if the frog’s jump into the pond spills water which forms an ever-growing cascade. The cello recalls the zazen theme before soloist and orchestra rush towards a triumphant conclusion.




Ithaca is inspired by C.P. Cafavy’s famous poem of that name. The poem does not recount the travails of Odysseus but is, rather, a gentle illustration of the philosophy of Epicurus — a philosophy of understanding and acceptance.


A quiet first movement invites a pause for reflection. The second movement evokes life with all its adventures, tragedies and joys … finally, a life understood and accepted with gratitude.



Not Going Quietly

This work was written in memory of Aaron McMillan, an Australian pianist with a promising concert career ahead of him, who died from a brain tumour at the age of 30.


The First Movement expresses the cruelty of his illness and a sense of horror at his rapidly impending death. The final bars suggest that death has triumphed.


The Second Movement is a lament and a consolation.


The Third Movement bustles with the joy and energy of artistic creation — qualities which defined Aaron. Days before he was to walk on stage for a major recital, he collapsed — he died shortly afterwards. Aaron did not go quietly; neither does this piece.


Time Out

In these short pieces, intended to evoke particular scenes, the mood is quiet, even a little wistful, with a slight bluesy feel — well suited to the oboe.


— George Palmer








Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151