Sound & light

Demondrae Thurman euphonium

Kathryn Fouse piano


works by

Barbara York

Doug Bristol

Anne Victorino d’Almeida

Patrick Schulz

Anthony Barfield


For more than a century, the euphonium went underutilized as a solo instrument, with generations of composers overlooking its surprising range and rich, room-filling tone. In the latter half of the 20th century however, classical composers took interest in the formidable instrument and it evolved from a band staple to a stand-alone tool of artistic expression.


On SOUND AND LIGHT, Demondrae Thurman wields the euphonium to further expand its repertoire and cement its graceful power into the minds of composers of solos and orchestral works alike. Playing works written by five close friends, Thurman wholly dedicates himself to unlocking the musical mysteries of every measure and fully exploring the instrument’s potential.


SOUND AND LIGHT features accompaniment by pianist Kathryn Fouse and new works by Barbara York, Doug Bristol, Anne Victorino d'Almeida, Patrick Schulz, and Anthony Barfield.



Release Date: March 26, 2021

Catalog #: NV6339

Format: Digital



CONNECT with Demondrae Thurman



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151