Old & New Poetry

vocal works from the texts of William Blake, Sara Teasdale & John Gracen Brown

carl vollrath


Aliana de la Guardia mezzo-soprano

Emalie Savoy soprano

Yoko Hagino, Nathan Brandwein piano

Timothy Phillips clarinet

Philipp Stäudlin saxophone


Carl Vollrath’s OLD AND NEW POETRY from Navona Records is a lovingly-prepared setting of the works of seminal poets William Blake and Sara Teasdale, as well as the contemporary writer John Gracen Brown. The verses chosen by Vollrath—including such varied selections as Blake’s “The Fly,” Teasdale’s “Dusk In War Time,” and Brown’s “The Coming of a Summer Rainstorm”—all reflect the composer’s belief in the interdependency of all life on earth. Employing piano, saxophone, and mezzo-soprano, Vollrath thoughtfully pushes tonal boundaries in response to the poetic language. The evocative performances captured on OLD AND NEW POETRY reveal the composer’s intimate relationship with the text and offer listeners a compelling musical-literary experience.



Release Date: June 11, 2021

Catalog #: NV6342

Format: Physical & Digital





Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.



223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at) parmarecordings.com

603.758.1718 x 151