Track listing


music Gavin Bryars

words Wendell Berry


1  i. The Sense of the Past 6:40

2 ii. The Path   4:44

3 iii. Sea Level  5:08

4 iv. The Pool   3:18

5  v. The Road  8:15

vi. The Music of Streams  8:21

7 vii. Questions    5:15

8 viii. Topsoil    4:27

9 ix. The Hill   3:36

10 x. Animals and Birds 4:15

11  xi. Shadow   5:02

12  xii. At Peace    9:36






Jessica Beebe

Kelly Ann Bixby

Katy Avery

Nathaniel Barnett

Karen Blanchard

Steven Bradshaw 1, 2

Colin Dill

Micah Dingler

Ryan Fleming

Joanna Gates

Dimitri German

Dominic German

Steven Hyder

Heidi Kurtz

Maren Montalbano 2

Rebecca Myers

Becky Oehlers

James Reese

Daniel Schwartz

Rebecca Siler

Julie Snyder

Daniel Spratlan

Elisa Sutherland

Daniel Taylor 1


1 - soloist on Mvt. iv

2 - soloist on Mvt. xi


Donald Nally Conductor

Kevin Vondrak Assistant Conductor

John Grecia Keyboards


Album artwork by Steven Bradshaw


A Native Hill was recorded October 8-11, 2019 at St. Peter’s Church in the Great Valley, Malvern PA


Recording Producers Paul Vazquez, Donald Nally, and Kevin Vondrak

Recording Engineers Paul Vazquez and Dante Portella

Editing, Mixing & Mastering Paul Vazquez


Production assistance Logan Henke


The recording of A Native Hill is made possible through the generous gift of a long-time supporter of The Crossing.


We are grateful for:

Our artists, composers, audience, friends, and supporters;

Gavin Bryars;

Jack Shoemaker at Counterpoint Press;

Tony Creamer;

the staff and congregation at our home, The Presbyterian Church of Chestnut Hill;

those who opened their homes to our artists during the recording of A Native Hill: Rev. Cindy Jarvis, David and Rebecca Thornburgh, Jeff and Liz Podraza, Beth Vaccaro and Landon Jones, Rebecca Siler, Corbin Abernathy and Andrew Beck, David Newmann and Laura Ward.


The Board of Directors of The Crossing

Kelly Ann Bixby

Phil Cooke

Micah Dingler

Shawn Felton

Tuomi Forrest - Vice President

Mary D. Hangley

Lisa Husseini

Cynthia A. Jarvis

Mary Kinder Loiselle

Michael M. Meloy

Donald Nally

Eric Owens

Pam Prior - Treasurer

Andrew Quint

James Reese

Kim Shiley - President

Carol Loeb Shloss - Secretary

John Slattery

Elizabeth Van de Water


The Staff of The Crossing

Jonathan Bradley, executive director

Shannon McMahon, operations manager

Kevin Vondrak, assistant conductor & artistic associate

Paul Vazquez, sound designer

Katie Feeney, grant manager

Elizabeth Dugan, bookkeeper

Ryan Strand, administrative assistant


The Crossing is represented by Alliance Artist Management





General Manager of Audio & Sessions Jan Košulič

Audio Director Lucas Paquette


Executive Producer Bob Lord


Executive A&R Sam Renshaw

A&R Director Brandon MacNeil


VP, Design & Marketing Brett Picknell

Art Director Ryan Harrison

Design Edward A. Fleming

Publicity Patrick Niland, Sara Warner






CONNECT with the crossing



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151