Folk Themes

Kariné Poghosyan piano

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor composer
Edvard Grieg composer
Komitas Vardapet composer
Franz Liszt composer

Release Date: February 3, 2023
Catalog #: NV6495
Format: Digital
Solo Instrumental

Armenian pianist Kariné Poghosyan dazzles with a riveting selection of vibrantly passionate piano music based on folk motifs of five different cultures on FOLK THEMES. Never before has there been a juxtaposition of the works of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (half British, half Sierra-Leonese), Edvard Grieg (Norwegian), Komitas (Armenian) and Franz Liszt (largely Hungarian), and upon listening to FOLK MUSIC, one can’t help but wonder why. Despite the composers’ respective idiosyncrasies, all pieces share the same inherent tenderness, fire, and zest for life: and Poghosyan isn’t shy to show it, both in the profundity of fragile sentiment and in fireworks of exuberant virtuosity.


Hear the full album on YouTube

Track Listing & Credits

# Title Composer Performer
01 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No1 Allegro molto, A minor Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 2:21
02 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No2 Andante, A-flat Major Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 3:21
03 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No3 Allegro moderato, G minor Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 3:19
04 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No4 Vivace, D Minor Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 2:39
05 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No5 Andante molto, E-flat Major Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 4:00
06 Three-Fours (Valse Suite), op.71: No6 Allegro assai, C minor Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Kariné Poghosyan, piano 3:30
07 Lyric Pieces: To the Spring Edvard Grieg Kariné Poghosyan, piano 3:05
08 Lyric Pieces: March of Gnomes Edvard Grieg Kariné Poghosyan, piano 3:03
09 Lyric Pieces: Minuet (“Vanished Days”) Edvard Grieg Kariné Poghosyan, piano 6:01
10 Lyric Pieces: Wedding Day at Troldhaugen Edvard Grieg Kariné Poghosyan, piano 5:58
11 Six Dances for Piano: No.2 Unabi Komitas Vardapet Kariné Poghosyan, piano 1:50
12 Six Dances for Piano: No.4 Shushiki Komitas Vardapet Kariné Poghosyan, piano 1:28
13 4 Rhapsodies: Hungarian Rhapsody No.12 Franz Liszt Kariné Poghosyan, piano 10:14
14 4 Rhapsodies: Hungarian Rhapsody No.6 Franz Liszt Kariné Poghosyan, piano 6:55
15 4 Rhapsodies: Hungarian Rhapsody No.7 Franz Liszt Kariné Poghosyan, piano 5:31
16 4 Rhapsodies: Rhapsodie Espagnole Franz Liszt Kariné Poghosyan, piano 13:46

Recorded June 2, 6-7, July 6, 26 & August 4 at Greenfield Hall, Manhattan School of Music in New York NY
Myers Recording Studio Production
Producer & Engineer Dan Rorke

Album cover photo by Jeffrey Langford Photography

Executive Producer Bob Lord

A&R Director Brandon MacNeil
A&R Danielle Sullivan

VP of Production Jan Košulič
Audio Director Lucas Paquette

VP, Design & Marketing Brett Picknell
Art Director Ryan Harrison
Design Edward A. Fleming, Morgan Hauber
Publicity Patrick Niland, Aidan Curran

Artist Information

Kariné Poghosyan


Award-winning Armenian-American pianist Kariné Poghosyan has been praised on the world stage for her “ability to get to the heart of the works she performs.” Since her orchestral debut at the age of 14, Poghosyan has been enchanting concert audiences around the globe, with her masterful artistry and exceptional performances that leave them forever transformed.


There’s nothing more inspiring to me than the merging of academia and folklore, that magical moment when classical composers open themselves to “Folk Themes” that had called out to their soul.

My friend, the renowned WQXR host Terrance McKnight, after hearing a bit of my recording of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s Three-Fours, remarked “this music sounds like being in Love. Here is a composer who has given himself permission to love himself and be at peace with who he is.” McKnight was referring to the life-transforming moment of reconnection the Afro-English composer experienced during his U.S. visits. His English family had been encouraging of his gifts, and young Samuel became immersed in the U.K. classical circles, attending the Royal College of Music. However, all through this early stage, a part of his identity — his African heritage — had remained an untapped resource; he had never met his Sierra Leonese father. And so, when Coleridge-Taylor arrived in the United States, he not only became a heroic figure for the African-American community because of all the success he had already achieved, but he also rediscovered and reconnected to his African roots through the great riches of African-American music he heard. It was as if this long-dormant part of his soul came to life!

Grieg admitted once that unlike Bach and Beethoven, who constructed grand cathedrals with their masterpieces, he only wanted to build humble “dwellings for people in which they might feel happy and at home.” The Lyric Pieces certainly serve this noble purpose, with their serene melodies in the style of his native Norwegian folk tunes and dance-like rhythms in open-fifth drones in the bass.

The Armenian master Komitas was one the first ethnomusicologists, devoting his life to gathering, cataloging, and arranging folk material. His Six Dances for Piano are indeed dances from particular Armenian cities, and carry distinct folk-like rhythmic elements and ornamentations. The two dances I have selected have been my particular favorites ever since my teenage years in Yerevan.

Liszt was a master of so many genres but none are as deeply expressive and interwoven with Folk Themes as his Rhapsodies. Hence, I selected three of my most beloved Hungarian Rhapsodies, as well as the iconic Rhapsodie Espagnole, as the grand finale of my recording.

One of my biggest inspirations for this recording is a quote by Komitas I had seen years ago, which said “the greatest creators are the people, go and learn from them.” And thus in a way, my entire recording is constructed as one big rhapsodic journey of us, the people. It begins with us all listening in to the gentle folk-like musings of a story teller, and escalates to us coming together in a grand and passionate celebration.

— Kariné Poghosyan