Bohuslav Martinů


Meredith Blecha-Wells cello

Sun Min Kim piano




Like many European composers alive during the World Wars, Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959) was nomadic. But while most of these artists’ music changed drastically based on their location, Martinů’s compositional style consistently referenced the culture of his Czech heritage. SMALL STORMS – cellist Meredith Blecha-Wells’ debut record – contains Martinů’s duos for cello and piano from the latter half of his life, with the performances of Blecha-Wells and pianist Sun Min Kim fully embodying the folkloric sensibility and conservative style that typify the composer’s oeuvre.


Blecha-Wells’ beautiful playing is especially apt at capturing Martinů’s oft-celebrated gift for melody and lyricism. Consistent with his Romantic and Neoclassicist predilections, the works featured on SMALL STORMS come from genres originating in the nineteenth century, and, in some cases, even earlier. In her variations, nocturnes, and arabesques, the cellist looks not to redefine these time-tested genres, but instead personalizes their forms within the composer’s characteristic musical language.


Blecha-Wells’ rendition of Martinů’s Seven Arabesques for Cello and Piano and Nocturnes for Cello and Piano are emblematic examples of the composer’s mixture of the European Classical tradition, elements of his native Czech culture, and the influence of his contemporaries. “Adante,” the fourth movement of the Suite Miniature, works along these lines and sounds most heavily inspired by folk music. Conversely, “Adante Moderato” from Arabesque might be the most modernist, namely in its dissonance and use of irregular time signatures.


Throughout SMALL STORMS, the duo’s playing blends wonderfully, no matter a passage’s virtuosity or simplicity. It should come as no surprise that Martinů’s cello writing is highlighted in this recording – Blecha-Wells’ lyrical warmth and powerful athleticism triumphantly illustrate why the composer welcomed her instrument’s entire expressive continuum in his music.




Meredith Blecha-Wells’ work as an educator and cellist has brought her to colleges and concert halls across the globe, including performances as a soloist and chamber musician


Blecha-Wells is currently an Associate Professor of Cello at Oklahoma State University, where she recently received the College of Arts and Sciences Junior Faculty Award for Scholarly Excellence


Pianist Sun Min Kim is an acclaimed performer in his own right, having made his debut with Ulsan Symphony Orchestra in South Korea when he was only 13-years-old


The works selected for SMALL STORMS all employ long-standing Classical genres and form, highlighting Martinů’s participation in the traditions of Romanticism, Twelve-Tonality, Historicism, and Primitivism. Blecha-Wells and Kim’s performances personalize these works while capturing the composer’s penchant for melody and lyricism





All Tracks recorded August of 2016 at the

Armstrong Auditorium in Edmond OK


Recording Engineer Ken Sarkey (Cornerstone Recording)


Cover art by Michael Labrie


Executive Producer Bob Lord

Executive A&R Sam Renshaw

A&R Chris Robinson

Audio Director Jeff LeRoy

Engineering Manager Lucas Paquette

Art & Production Director Brett Picknell

Graphic Design Ryan Harrison

Marketing Scott Murphy


[email protected]

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862


Navona Records is a

PARMA Recordings company



















Release Date: April 14, 2017

Catalog #: NV6092





All works by Bohuslav Martinů

Meredith Blecha-Wells cello

Sun Min Kim piano


Variations on a Theme of Rossini, H. 290


01 Theme: Poco Allegro - Allegro Moderato

02 Variation I: Poco Allegro

03 Variation II: Poco Piu Allegro

04 Variation III: Andante

05 Variation IV: Allegro

06 Theme: Vivo Moderato Maestoso


07 Ariette for Cello and Piano, H. 188b


Seven Arabesques for Cello and Piano, H. 201


08 Poco allegro

09 Moderato

10 Andante moderato

11 Allegro

12 Adagio

13 Allegretto

14 Allegretto moderato


Suite Miniature for Cello and Piano, H. 192


15 Moderato

16 Poco Andante

17 Poco Moderato

18 Andante

19 Poco Allegro

20 Allegretto

21 Moderato


Nocturnes for Cello and Piano, H. 189


22 Andantino Moderato

23 Lento

24 Moderato

25 Allegretto Moderato


Variations on a Slovakian Theme, H. 378


26 Theme: Poco Andante, Rubato

27 Variation I: Moderato

28 Variation II: Poco Allegro

29 Variation III: Moderato

30 Variation IV: Scherzo, Allegretto

31 Variation V: Allegro




Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151