photo: Melissa Dunstan, Tangled Lilac Photography

Bruce Reiprich’s music has been described as having “unapologetic lushness” (NewMusicBox), “post-romantic radiance” (Danbury News-Times), and “a contemplative mood, its sedate pace subtly dilating the flow of time” (Eagle Rock Patch). It has also been characterized as “a deeply personal mediation on the poet’s feelings” (San Francisco Classical Voice), “very powerful” (All Music Guide), “lovely and evocative” (Guitar Review-New York), “very impressive” (Cumhuriyet-Turkey), and “of special interest” (Guitar International-England). With compositions that span the gamut from overt tonality and metric regularity to atonality and pronounced rhythmic flexibility, he explores the beauty of lyrical lines, lush harmonies, and colorful textures. Recently, he has been influenced by the long sentences with multiple subordinate clauses that Marcel Proust employed in his In Search of Lost Time, as well as the long, rhapsodic sentences of László Krasznahorkai, Claude Simon, and Mircea Cărtărescu. Ultimately, it is the beauty of the serene and quiescent in both nature and art that serves as his inspiration.

His music has been performed by violinists Miranda Cuckson and Goran Končar, pianists Vicki Ray, Ana Cláudia de Assis, Stephen Gosling, Mark Robson and Gary Barnett, the Indiana University New Music Ensemble, Washington Square Contemporary Music Society/League ISCM Chamber Players, Oficina Música Viva (Brazil), California E.A.R Unit, Ensemble Flageolet, Zeitgeist, Boston Modern Orchestra Project (Club Cafe Series), Composers, Inc., Boston New Music Initiative, Grand Circle New Music, Hartt Contemporary Players Ensemble, Society for New Music, Civic Performers Innovative Music, Gregg Smith Singers, Hradec Kralove Philharmonic Orchestra (Czech Republic), Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra, Knox-Galesburg Symphony, Pro Musica Chamber Orchestra of Columbus, and Oakland Civic Orchestra.

His music has been heard abroad with performances in Brazil, China, Poland, Germany, Romania, Portugal, England, Turkey, and Mexico, and throughout the United States. International, national, and regional festival performances include the Festival of New Music: Touchpoints (Portugal), Săptămâna Internatională a Muzicii Noi (Romania), Shenyang Conservatory Festival of American Music (China), Piano Spheres, Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival at MASS MoCA, International Double Reed Society Conference, North American Saxophone Alliance National Convention, Society of Composers National and Regional Conferences, San Francisco Chamber Wind Festival, and New Directions Concerts (California), among others.

After receiving B.M. and M.A. degrees in music theory from the Eastman School of Music, Reiprich attended the University of Iowa, where he was awarded a Ph.D. in music composition. A former faculty member of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music and Wilkes University, he joined the Northern Arizona University faculty in 1999, where he is currently a Professor of Music Composition and Theory in the School of Music. In addition to composing and teaching, he is actively engaged in the promotion of contemporary music as Director of Flageolet, a professional new music ensemble.



Inviting Worlds Vol 2

Release Date: August 12, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6445
21st Century
Large Ensemble
Hot on the heels of its first edition, INVITING WORLDS VOL 2 follows in the footsteps of its predecessor with the rhythmic dexterity and textural nuance of today’s orchestras paired with a new roster of composers. New sounds and expressions burst with emotion and uplift us through dark days, navigating uncertainty and delivering us to tranquil resolution. From the frenetic energy and hair raising harmony of Chasse Noir to the soothing solemnity of When Quiet Comes, INVITING WORLDS VOL 2 delivers a colorful palette of orchestral virtuosity sure to please any listener who lends an ear.

Beneath the Tide

Release Date: March 8, 2019
Catalog Number: NV6216
21st Century
String Orchestra
PARMA Recordings, together with the esteemed Croatian Chamber Orchestra, is proud to release BENEATH THE TIDE, a reflection on human emotion and experience through a collection of five concertos. As the title suggests, BENEATH THE TIDE looks under the surface, examining underlying human realities that rise to the surface with the arrival of life’s changes.