Laura Talbott Clark

photo: Pam Stukenborg

A vibrant musician and innovative educator, Laura Talbott-Clark currently serves as associate professor of violin at Oklahoma State University. An avid chamber musician, she has performed as principal violinist of Tulsa Camerata, Janus 21 Chamber Ensemble, and as second violinist of the Tulsa Rock Quartet. Talbott-Clark has an extensive background as an orchestral musician, including membership in the Tulsa Symphony Orchestra, Nashville Symphony, and Cantata Singers Chamber Orchestra.

Dedicated to community engagement and music education, she was formerly the Director and Founder of the OSU Horizons String Chamber Music Camp and the OSU High School Summer Music Camp. She has served as President of the Oklahoma chapter of the American String Teachers Association as well as Chair of the ASTA National Collegiate Roundtable Committee. 

Equally interested in the scholarly aspects of performance, music education, and the creative process, Talbott-Clark has presented sessions at the American String Teachers Association, College Music Society, and Association for Contemplative Mind in Higher Education national conferences, as well as at the Maryland, Oklahoma, and Texas music educators association state conferences. A certified Mindfulness-Based Wellness and Pedagogy instructor, she advocates for musician wellness in the private studio, as well as investigates the application of contemplative practices to diversity, equity, and inclusion issues in tertiary education. Between Us: Music for Two by Mary Howe represents a portion of Talbott-Clark’s current work to rediscover and celebrate music written by women composers affiliated with the Federal Music Project (1935-1939).

Talbott-Clark completed her education at Vanderbilt University, University of Michigan, and Boston University, under the guidance of Christian Teal, Paul Kantor, and Peter Zazofsky.


Between Us

Release Date: June 24, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6432
20th Century
Throughout her storied career, composer and music activist Mary Howe elevated the status of women composers and the Washington DC music scene and gained notoriety for her orchestral works. Many of her pieces for smaller ensembles, however, remain unpublished. On BETWEEN US, premiere recordings of Howe’s duos at last see the light of day and showcase her knack for drawing out the melodic qualities and dynamic timbres of the piano, voice, and stringed instruments. The pieces transcend time, simultaneously pulling from the sensibility and formal structures of romanticism and 20th-century idioms, spanning and bridging the gaps that typically pigeonhole music into a specific milieu.