photo: Brittany Florenz

Pianist Dr. Marko Stuparević has appeared in over 500 concerts and festivals over the United States, Israel, France, Serbia, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, and Slovakia as a solo performer and chamber musician. 

Winning piano competition prizes resulted in many notable solo recitals in the United States and Europe, including Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall and many other important venues. Stuparević has performed as soloist with Connecticut Valley Symphony Orchestra (under Joseph Hodge), Razgrad Philharmonic (Krasen Ivanov), Symphony Orchestra of the Army House of Serbia (Simone Fermani), National Symphony of Bulgaria (Stanislav Usev), and Foot in the Door Ensemble (Glen Adsit). 

Vast chamber music and collaborative experience includes performances as a part of 20/20 Honors Chamber Music Program, Vagus Trio, 016 ensemble, Elements Ensemble, and collaborations with the world renewed musicians such as double-bassist Robert Black (Bang on the Can All-Stars), soprano Maureen O’Flynn (Metropolitan Opera primadona), Martha Graham principal dancer Miki Orihara, and many other established artists. 

As a member of Prometheus Duo with saxophonist Joseph Abad, Stuparević performed more than 60 concerts since its founding in 2016, performing in the United States, Iceland, and Serbia, premiering new music and traditional chamber repertoire. The duo was granted artist-in-residency at the Avaloch Farm Music Institute in 2016 and 2017, and was featured on SPECTRA VOL. 2 from Navona Records. The duo was presented at the Belgrade Saxperience in 2019, performing six concerts in six cities in Serbia. 

Stuparević is head of the piano department at Silver Music in New York City, a piano faculty member at JCC Thurnauer School of Music, piano and chamber music faculty member at Luzerne Music Center, Art Ahimsa Music Festival, and Los Angeles Young Virtuoso International Piano Festival. 

Stuparević earned his D.M.A. at the Hartt School of Music studying with the celebrated American pianist Dr. Paul Rutman. Former principal teachers include Anne Koscielny, Phillip Kawin, and Jokut Mihailović. Over the years, Stuparević has worked with renowned pianists such as Garrick Ohlsson, Roswitha Gediga, Arbo Valdma, Viktor Derevianko, Tijana Humo Rajevac, Lions Gate Trio, Patrick Zygmanowski, Matei Varga, Aleksandar Šandorov, and many others.



Release Date: October 14, 2022
Catalog Number: NV6423
Solo Instrumental
(RE)CREATION from Navona Records and pianist Marko Stuparević is centered on the acts of creation and re-creation, observed through three piano sonatas of three Russian composers: all pianists, contemporaries, and representatives of some of the most notable works of 20th century Russian piano music. Performed by the award-winning pianist, each sonata is rich with advanced compositional techniques and the individual ideologies of their composers, crafted with cyclical forms representing the circle of life. The works of Sergei Rachmaninoff, Alexander Scriabin, and Nikolai Medtner are on full display, born and immortalized into the never-ending life cycle they mirror.

Spectra II

Release Date: October 12, 2018
Catalog Number: NV6188
20th Century
21st Century
Solo Instrumental
SPECTRA 2 unveils the works of six composers, each of whom tells a unique, memorable story. First up is Elizabeth R. Austin's B-A-C-HOMAGE, an intricately constructed tribute to the German Baroque composer. Based on Bach's name and his "Air on G" respectively, the first and second movement reflect upon the clarity of his work through the lens of Austin's decidedly modern tonal language.