CONCORDE Contemporary Music Ensemble
Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Naxos Music Library

Harry Sparnaay, bass clarinet
Jane O'Leary, conductor/piano; Madeleine Staunton, piccolo/flute/alto flute; Paul Roe, bass clarinet/B-flat clarinet/A clarinet; Dermot Dunne, conductor/accordion; Elaine Clark, violin; David James, cello; Roberto Oliveira, percussion
Richard O'Donnell, conductor

REFLECTIONS features the works of contemporary composers Alejandro Castanos, Jane O'Leary, Stephen Gardner, Judith Ring, and Si-Hyun Yi as performed by the Ireland-based Concorde Music Ensemble. The disc features a wide variety of compositions, including a duo that embodies the lightness and directness of traditional Klezmer music, an intricately-layered tape piece, a series of free-tempo miniatures, and more. Playing alongside the Concorde players on this disc is legendary bass clarinetist Harry Sparnaay.

Concorde was founded in Dublin in 1976 and continues to nurture the creation of new work, having commissioned and premiered over one hundred compositions. The ensemble continues to forge international links with performers, composers, and promoters, along with working with composition students in Ireland through programs at DIT Conservatory of Music & Drama and NUI Maynooth. Concorde are members of the European Conference of Promoters of New Music.

Similar Releases