Release Date: August 1, 2011
Catalog #: NV5856
Format: Digital & Physical
21st Century


Michael Boyd composer
Joo Won Park composer
Israel Neuman composer
Liviu Marinescu composer
Jay C. Batzner composer
Peter Van Zandt Lane composer

AXIOM is the second Navona release of and the 26th addition to the Society of Composers, Inc. CD Series, featuring compositions from Michael Boyd, Joo Won Park, Israel Neuman, Liviu Marinescu, Jay C. Batzner, and Peter Van Zandt Lane. The scholarly and musical experience of each composer and the selective process SCI uses for each release create a compilation that ensures representation of the highest quality work in a variety of compositional styles.


Hear the full album on YouTube

Artist Information

Michael Boyd


Michael Boyd (b. 1978, Montgomery County MD) is a composer, scholar and experimental improviser who currently serves as Assistant Professor of Music at Chatham University in Pittsburgh, PA. His music, performed throughout the United States, attempts to (re)integrate performers into the creative process of music making through graphic notation and embraces experimental practices such as live electronics, improvisation, installation, multimedia and performance art.

Israel Neuman


Composer and bassist Israel Neuman (b. 1966, Haifa, Israel) received a Ph.D. in composition and a M.A. in jazz studies at the University of Iowa, and a B.Mus. in jazz studies at the University of Hartford. He studied composition with Lawrence Fritts, John Eaton, David Gompper and John Rapson. He studied bass with Gary Karr, Michael Klinghoffer, Diana Gannett, Volkan Orhon, and Anthony Cox.

Liviu Marinescu


The works of Liviu Marinescu (b. 1970, Bucharest, Romania) have received recognition in numerous festivals of new music throughout the world, and have been performed by prominent orchestras and ensembles, including the Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Czech Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic, Orchestra 2001 in Philadelphia and the National Chamber Radio and Music Academy orchestras in Bucharest.

Jay C. Batzner


Jay C. Batzner (b. 1974, Dubuque IA) is currently on the faculty of Central Michigan University where he teaches music technology, electronic music composition, and music theory courses. Prior to this position Dr. Batzner was on the faculty of the University of Central Florida, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Metropolitan Community Colleges (Kansas City area), and Indiana University Southeast. He earned his doctorate in composition at the University of Missouri - Kansas City and holds degrees in composition and/or theory from the University of Louisville and the University of Kansas.

Peter Van Zandt Lane


The music of Peter Van Zandt Lane (b. 1985, Port Jefferson NY) has been described as having "Propulsive rhythms" and "surprising lyricism" and has been praised by musicians and critics alike (Boston Musical Intelligencer) as music that "gives an amazing first impression." A Boston-based composer and bassoonist, Peter writes passionately for ensembles of all types, and often employs the use of electronics in his compositions. With backgrounds in classical performance and rock, contemporary theory and music engineering, he draws on his diverse experiences to create music that is fresh, genuine, and widely appealing.

Explore more albums in this series