Robert DeGaetano
Classical | Instrumental
YouTube Sampler | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes and Noble | Spotify | ArkivMusic
Naxos Music Library

Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra | John Yaffé, conductor
Robert DeGaetano, piano

This new release from concert pianist and composer Robert DeGaetano is a lush cross-section of virtuosic piano music which pairs Chopin's Piano Concerto No.1 in E Minor and Mr. DeGaetano's own Piano Concerto No.1 in a heart-stopping exhibition of balance and brilliance.

The much-loved and much-debated Chopin concerto was an early milestone in Mr. DeGaetano's life. "Chopin wrote the E Minor Concerto when he was only eighteen years old and premiered it at nineteen. I strongly relate having learned it at approximately the same age. I remember that initial captivation, and I was so moved by its power and beauty," says the now-seasoned performer recalling his studies at Juilliard.

About his own exuberant and powerful Concerto No.1, Mr. DeGaetano reveals, "Often my music will sound atonal. That is only because there are many tonal passages being played together, each offering their own information. It's these varied resonances that interest me because they correspond to our contemporary world.'

Visit the DEGAETANO CONCERTO NO. 1 | CHOPIN CONCERTO NO. 1 web application to access the digital booklet, study scores, video, extended liner notes, and more.

Similar Releases