Jeffrey Jacob
Release Date: October 14, 2014

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Naxos Music Library

The London Symphony Orchestra | Daniel Spalding, conductor; Jeffrey Jacob, piano
The New England String Quartet | Julia Okrusko, violin; Klaudia Szlachta, violin; Lilit Muradyan, viola; Ming-Hui Lin, cello
Hradec Králové Philharmonic | Jon Mitchell, conductor
The Moscow Symphony | Joel Spiegelman, conductor
The Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra | Toshiyuki Shimada, conductor

Occasionally, moments of happiness and comfort can rise from experiences of anxiety and doubt, during which we learn about ourselves and our limits. Composer and pianist Jeffrey Jacob depicts the experiences of struggle and pain, and of triumph and joy on his debut Navona Records release DARKNESS TO LIGHT.

Death and Transfiguration (Symphony No. 3), a contemporary version of Richard Strauss's tone poem, expresses the emotions of a dying man, who, fearing death, later finds exaltation in it. String Quartet No. 2 and Elegy portray turmoil, the former showing the defeat of inner darkness, and the latter referencing the violent conflict between Israel and Palestine. The short and lyrical piece Adagietto Misterioso builds tension to illustrate feelings of nostalgia and transitoriness, while Symphony No. 1 presents ideas about timelessness, taken from T.S. Eliot's Four Quartets. Through his music, Jacob discusses the vulnerable moments of human existence and how through our vulnerability, we can open ourselves to growth toward a brighter perspective.

Currently Artist-in-Residence at Saint Mary's College in Notre Dame IN, Jeffrey Jacob received degrees from the Juilliard School and the Peabody Conservatory. Recently, he has received the Artist of the Year Award from the International New Music Consortium at New York University for his work as composer, pianist, and educator.

Similar Releases