The Piano Duo of Iris Graffman Wenglin & Ruth Lomon


Clara Wieck Schumann

Germaine Tailleferre

Louise Talma

Miriam Gideon

Barbara Pentland

Marga Richter

Thea Musgrave

Ruth Lomon

Jacqueline Fontyn

Marta Ptaszynska

Shulamit Ran



Ruth Lomon (1930-2017), Composer and Resident Scholar at the Women's Studies Research Center at Brandeis University and Composer-in-Residence with Boston Secession, and her friend Iris Graffman Wenglin, Florida-based pianist and lecturer, came to a stunning realization after Ruth traveled to London, where she looked for music written by women. There were very few scores to be found, and even fewer that were properly printed. With that, the duo set out on a mission to uncover the buried works of female composers over the years and bring them deserved recognition. The results of this endeavor come to life in HOMMAGE TO WOMEN COMPOSERS.


Featuring compositions by 11 female composers—Clara Wieck Schumann, Germaine Tailleferre, Louise Talma, Miriam Gideon, Barbara Pentland, Marga Richter, Thea Musgrave, Jacqueline Fontyn, Marta Ptaszyńska, Shulamit Ran, and Lomon herself—HOMMAGE TO WOMEN COMPOSERS offers a cross-section of genius and innovation through the Romantic period to the late 20th Century. From the grace and rhythmic definition of Schumann’s Five Caprices (1831) and Polonaise (1832), to the array of lyricism, rhythmic momentum, and moments of pointillist texture in Pentland’s Three Piano Duets After Pictures by Paul Klee (1958) and the brief yet personality-packed movements of Ran’s Children’s Scenes (1970), the diversity of styles, textures, and arrangements all within the genre of piano duet is a marvel to behold.


The impact of female composers on the world of music is known by some, although there is a long way to go in unearthing the full treasure trove that is compositions by female artists throughout history. With HOMMAGE TO WOMEN COMPOSERS, the impact is unignorable.



Release Date: October 25, 2019

Catalog #: NV6254

Format: Physical & Digital



CONNECT with the Ruth Lomon website



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.



223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at) parmarecordings.com

603.758.1718 x 151