Athenia Trio


Alison Brown Sincoff flute

Michele Fiala oboe

Matthew Morris bassoon


BRUSH STROKES from Athenia Trio features works for flute, oboe, and bassoon. The program harnesses the impressive versatility of the trio, with six pieces by six different composers, including two commissioned specially for the ensemble: Alyssa Morris’s Brush Strokes, and Robbie McCarthy's The Blind Men and the Elephant.


Morris’s piece is a multimedia work of sorts, reimagining much-loved paintings by artists like Seurat, Monet, and Van Gogh; the three instruments of the Athenia Trio become the “brushes”; McCarthy's piece is a six-movement work with spoken word based on the parable of the blind men and the elephant. Trio de la fiesta mayor, composed by Eduardo Grau in 1953, recalls the festival music heard in Spanish villages. The music is grounded in Latin-American tradition. From one piece to the next, listeners will be surprised and delighted by what they hear on BRUSH STROKES.



Release Date: December 11, 2020

Catalog #: NV6320

Format: Digital



CONNECT with Athenia Trio



Navona Records offers listeners a fresh taste of today's leading innovators in orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and experimental music as well as prime pieces of classic repertoire. Our music is meticulously performed by the finest musicians and handpicked to ensure the most rewarding listening experience.

223 Lafayette Road

North Hampton NH 03862



press (at)

603.758.1718 x 151