photo: Darsha Primich

Robert Fleisher attended the High School of Music and Art in his native New York City, graduated with honors from the University of Colorado, and earned his M.M. and D.M.A. degrees in composition at the University of Illinois, studying with Ben Johnston, Salvatore Martirano, and Paul Zonn. Author of Twenty Israeli Composers (1997), he is also a contributing composer and essayist in Theresa Sauer’s Notations 21 (2009). Fleisher’s chamber music has been described as “eloquent” (Ann Arbor News), “lovely and emotional” (Musicworks), “astoundingly attractive” (Perspectives of New Music), and “ingenious” (Strad); his electroacoustic music characterized as “rich, tactile” and “endearingly low-tech” (New York Times). Awarded artist residencies at the Hambidge Center, Millay Colony, Montalvo Center, VCCA, Yaddo, and Mishkenot Sha’ananim, he has also received eight Illinois Arts Council grants as well as support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Foundation for Jewish Culture, and the Ruttenberg Arts Foundation. Fleisher’s works have been heard in more than a dozen countries and appear on Albany, Capstone, Centaur, Navona, Petrichor, PnOVA, Sarton, and SEAMUS labels. He is Professor Emeritus at Northern Illinois University, and a member of BMI.


PARMA Live Stage Event


Moto Continuo

Release Date: July 10, 2015
Catalog Number: NV6003
21st Century
Solo Instrumental
Piano Trio
Praised for his "bold and expressive" playing (Gramophone Magazine), cellist Ovidiu Marinescu and Navona Records present MOTO CONTINUO, a collection of six contemporary solo cello and piano trio works - from the intense, dark, and expressive to the calm, light, and austere - performed by Marinescu and his colleagues from Trio Casals, violinist Sylvia Ahramjian and pianist Anna Kislitsyna.